Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Joe Meyer
Monday, February 17, 2020

The Murray County Central School District will be joining school districts throughout the state to salute their local education leaders during Minnesota’s annual School Board Recognition Week February 17-21, 2020.

 The commemorative week is designed to recognize the contributions made by Minnesota’s school board members, including the Murray County Central School Board, who are charged with governing public education under state law.

 Minnesota school board members are chosen by their communities through election or appointment to manage local schools. They oversee multimillion dollar budgets which fund education programs for more than 825,000 students in approximately 2,000 schools. Their personnel decisions affect more than 52,000 teachers and thousands of administrators and support workers.

 These volunteer leaders also are responsible for formulating school district policy, approving curricula, maintaining school facilities, and adhering to state and federal education law. Legal concerns and the complexities of school finance, including budgeting and taxation, require them to spend many hours in board training programs and personal study to enhance their understanding of these issues.

 Our deepest appreciation is extended to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens to participate in education in our community. We salute the public servants of the Murray County Central School Board whose commitment and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible.

 The Murray County Central School Board members along with their years of service are Dan Woldt (Chair) – 18th year, Tony Clarke (Vice Chair) – 10th year, Sue Streff (Treasurer) – 12th year, Lauren Biegler (Clerk) – 4th year, Robin Gilbertson (Director) – 4th year, Maddy Robinson (Director) – 2nd year.

These men and women devote countless hours to making sure our schools are helping every child learn at a higher level. They make the tough decisions every month and stay informed on education issues and regulations in order to provide the kind of accountability our citizens expect.

 Murray County Central school board members give the citizens in the district a voice in education decision making. Even though we make a special effort to show appreciation in February, their contribution is a year-round commitment.

 Please join us by saying thanks to our school board members for the jobs that they do.